Nine Distinct Regions of Georgia Travel

Nine Distinct Regions of Georgia Travel

Georgia offers up travel and adventure in nine different regions across the state that include small towns, large cities, rugged mountains, and history.

Often, when people think of visiting Georgia in the southern United States, they envision a land they have seen in movies such as Gone with the Wind, where every street is lined with plantation homes and across the railroad tracks there are shacks and shanties.

In actuality, the landscape of Georgia is as varied as the entire country itself. There are indeed plantation homes, but there are cosmopolitan city areas, rugged mountain terrains, and delightful coastal retreats.

Basically, there are nine distinct regions in the state of Georgia. All hold specialties and one of a kind area traditions. Some are industrial hubs and others are strictly agricultural. One region typically is as influential as the other, but all bear visiting and love to host tourism. Although there is much to see in the way of Civil War history, the history of Georgia as one of the thirteen colonies has historical sites going back to before the American Revolution. All the regions have something to offer.

Historic High Country of Georgia

This area contains the cities of Dalton, Rome, Cartersville, Lookout Mountain, and Ellijay. This area in the northwest corner of the state is alive with captivating stories of Native Americans and the Civil War. This area was settled by Georgia’s earliest pioneers who fell in love with the forest-hilled kingdom and mountain domains of this area.

Northeast Mountains of Georgia

This region is the home of the cities of Gainesville, Dahlonega, Hiawassee, and Commerce. This is part of the heart of southern Appalachia. Within it, you will find Georgia’s highest peak at Brasstown Bald and discover how this naturally beautiful area is truly Mother Nature’s Stomping Ground. Many areas have traditional artisan scenes and well as wineries, quaint shopping, cute villages that conduct business against the majestic backdrop of Northeast Georgia.

Atlanta Metro Area of Georgia

The Atlanta Metro Area is of course the home to Atlanta, Georgia’s largest and capital city. It also contains the cities of Roswell, Kennesaw, Marietta, Decatur, Stone Mountain, Jonesboro, and Lawrenceville. An old saying says that “all roads lead to Atlanta,” and in the south actually very true. Atlanta is approachable by I-75, I-85, I-20, I-16, US 41, and a number of state highways. Atlanta and the cities that surround the metro hub is a big city-sophisticate with southern manners, but you can leave the white gloves at home. Bring your shopping shoes instead and also head out to see a number of championship short teams at play.

Historic Heartland of Georgia

In the center of the state, you will find the cities of Macon, Athens, Milledgeville, Warner Robins, Perry, and Conyers. Athens is home to the University of Georgia, the oldest state-chartered college in the United States. Perry has been the home of many prominent state politicians such as Sam Nunn and Sonny Perdue. In Macon, there are loads of activities for all ages and at Warner Robins, the free Museum of Aviation is one of the jewels in the area.

Presidential Pathways of Georgia

This area of the state of Georgia includes the cities of Columbus, LaGrange, Warm Springs, Americus, and Plains. A land of legacies, this area preserves the contributions of President Jimmy Carter in Plains to President Franklin D. Roosevelt and his Little White House in Warm Springs. There are animal safaris and ranches, distilleries, and sophisticated plantation homes. Much of the area has been preserved due to the fact that Sherman’s March to the Sea’s long-reaching arms did not reach this area of the state that borders the middle Alabama state line. Therefore, nothing was destroyed and much remained intact.

Classic South of Georgia

In this area of Georgia that borders South Carolina, you will find the cities of Augusta, Swainsboro, Thomson, and Waynesboro. Old Georgia makes a strong appearance here. Augusta was actually the second capital of the state from 1785-1795. Here you will find an area entrenched in both Revolutionary and Civil War legends, art, and history.

Magnolia Midlands of Georgia

Closer to the coast of Georgia, the cities in this region include Vidalia, Statesboro, Jesup, and Sylvania. This rolling countryside contains 23 counties and is characterized by acres of farmland and is an area of the state where visiting the back roads and meandering off the interstate freeway is not only a recommendation but a required delight. There are many small town diversions that will thrill in the effects of yesteryear.

Plantation Trace of Georgia

Located nearer the state line of northern Florida, Plantation Trace of Georgia includes the cities of Valdosta, Albany, Thomasville, Colquitt, and Cuthbert. Here you will find small towns that are big on charm and countryside scenes that look as if they belong on a postcard. The area is an outdoor lover’s paradise and a great number of regional museums are here, including the Ray Charles Museum in Albany and also the Flint River Aquarium, where you can watch out for a number of turtles.

Coast of Georgia

This is the oldest region in Georgia and is where the first colonists from England settled. In this area, you will find the cities of Savannah, Brunswick, St. Simons Island, Jekyll Island, Darien, Waycross, and Folkston. The natural wonders of the Georgia coast, which in many areas, remains close to its natural environs, combines deep history with awesome adventures such as the black swirling waters of the Okefenokee Swamp.

Source: Georgia Department of Economic Development

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *